2015 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship
Round 1 - Sepang Circuit, Selangor (16 - 19 April)
Race Report

Musashi Boon Siew Honda could not have asked for a better start to their 2015 campaign as riders, Yuki Takahashi and Zamri Baba each secured a victory in the gruelling SuperSports 600cc class in the opening leg of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship at Sepang on Sunday.

Yuki lived up to his name as a former Moto2 rider as he cruised to victory in Race 1 with minimum resistance from the field, completing the 25-lap race in 27’31.626s followed by Zamri in second place with 27’33.199s and Ratthapong Wilairot (AP Honda Racing Thailand) third, 27’43.481s.

Zamri went on to win a dramatic Race 2 that saw countless overtaking and daredevil maneuvers from start to beginning, crossing the finish line first in 27’53.707s, 0.774 seconds ahead of Yudhistira (Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki).

Dimas Ekky (Astra Honda Motor Racing) who initially finished third was demoted to fourth after Race Direction found him guilty of overtaking during a yellow chequered flag. Following that decision, Tomoyoshi Koyama (NTS TPro Yuzy Honda) was moved up to third with 27’54.790s.

Hauling 45 points, Zamri takes the lead in the SuperSports 600cc standings followed by Yuki in second place with 34 points while Dimas holds third, 24 points.

“I feel proud winning one of the two races here today at my home track and in front of my family, friends and supporters,” said Zamri.

“I knew it was not going to be easy to repeat last year’s double win but at least I managed to finish both races on the podium. In fact, I believe this year’s competition is a lot more harder than the previous seasons,” he added.

Reflecting on his outing during both races today, Zamri added, “Race 1 did not go too well. I missed a gear at the start and for the rest of the race I was playing catch up with Yuki who had a menacing consistency.”

“Things were better in Race 2, I enjoyed a smooth start when the lights went out and was able to steal the holeshot immediately. But I did not expect to be fighting throughout with Yudhistira throughout the race. We swapped the lead several times until it started raining at several turns. I did not want to take any unnecessary risks and slowed down my pace and this was when the rest of the field caught up. But once the track dried up I started pushing and managed to pull a slight gap from my rivals. I am very happy with this win and I would like to say thank you to the team and our sponsors for supporting us.”

Meanwhile Takehiro Yamamoto won Race 1 of the new Asia Productions 250cc while his AP Honda Racing Thailand rivals dominated the podium in Race 2. Takehiro won Race 1 in 20’38.176s ahead of Apiwat Wongthananon and Vorapong Malahuan who timed 20’38.211s and 20’52.270s respectively.

Race 2 saw all Apiwat, Vorapong and Nakarin Athiratphuvapat pressure Takehiro into making a mistake at the final turn, making it an all Thai affair on the podium. Apiwat clinched the chequered flag in 20’45.779s followed by Vorapong with 20’45.865s and Nakarin third, 20’45.870s.

Apiwat leads the Asia Production 250cc standings with 45 points with Takehiro and Vorapong in tow, bagging 38 points and 36 points. Moving to the developmental series, female racer, Muklada Sarapuech put on a brilliant show to overpower her superior male rivals and win Race 2 of the Asia Dream Cup (ADC).

Muklada won the 14-lap gruelling race during the sprint to the finish line, wrapping it up in 19’04.764s ahead of Japanese duo, Yusuke Nakamura and Hiroki Nakamura who had to settle for runner-up positions with 19’04.780s and 19’04.918s.

Earning 41 points from this weekend puts Muklada on top of the overall standings, at a tie with Hiroki followed by Yusuke in third place with 40 points.

Round 2 of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship will be held at the Sentul Circuit in Indonesia from 4 to 7 June.

Race Results

SuperSports 600cc

Race 1

  1. Yuki Takahashi (Honda) 27’31.626s
  2. Zamri Baba (Honda) 27’33.199s
  3. Ratthapong Wilairot (THA) 27’43.481s
  4. Farid Badrul Hisham (Kawasaki) 27’44.336s
  5. Dimas Ekky (Honda) 27’44.523s

Race 2

  1. Zamri Baba (Honda) 27’53.707s
  2. Ahmad Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 27’54.481s
  3. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 27’54.790s
  4. Dimas Ekky Pratama (Honda) 27’54.622s
  5. Makoto Inagaki (Yamaha) 27’55.293s

Overall Standings

  1. Zamri Baba (Honda) 45 points
  2. Yuki Takahashi (Honda) 34 points
  3. Dimas Ekky Pratama (Honda) 24 points
  4. Ahmad Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 20 points
  5. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 20 points

Team Awards

  1. Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing 50 points
  2. Astra Honda Racing Team 24 points
  3. AP Honda Racing Thailand 23 points
  4. Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki 20 points
  5. T.Pro Yuzy Honda NTS 20 points

Asia Production 250cc

Race 1

  1. Takehiro Yamamoto (Kawasaki) 20’38.211s
  2. Apiwat Wongthananon (Honda) 20’38.211s
  3. Vorapong Malahuan (Honda) 20’52.270s
  4. Nakarin Atiratphuvapat (Honda) 20’52.350s
  5. Ryunosuke Hyodo (Kawasaki) 20’52.359s

Race 2

  1. Apiwat Wongthananon (Honda) 20’45.779s
  2. Vorapong Malahuan (Honda) 20’45.865s
  3. Nakarin Athiratphuvapat (Honda) 20’45.870s
  4. Takehiro Yamamoto (Kawasaki) 20’50.325s
  5. Ryunosuke Hyodo (Kawasaki) 20’53.645s

Overall Standings

  1. Apiwat Wongthananon (Honda) 45 points
  2. Takehiro Yamamoto (Kawasaki) 38 points
  3. Vorapong Malahuan (Honda) 36 points
  4. Nakarin Athiratphuvapat (Honda) 29 points
  5. Ryunosuke Hyodo (Kawasaki) 22 points

Team Awards

  1. AP Honda Racing Thailand 45 points
  2. TRICKSTAR Racing 38 points
  3. Akeno Speed Racing 20 points
  4. Yamaha Finson Racing 15 points
  5. Yamaha Factory Racing Indonesia 13 points

Underbone 130cc

Race 1

  1. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 19’14.112s
  2. Hokky Krisdianto (Yamaha) 19’17.966s
  3. Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (Yamaha) 19’17.995s
  4. Ferlando Herdian (Yamaha) 19’18.101s
  5. Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 19’18.361s

Race 2

  1. Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (Yamaha) 19’17.609s
  2. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 19’17.642s
  3. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 19’17.732s
  4. Hokky Krisdianto (Yamaha) 19’17.833s
  5. Ferlando Herdian (Yamaha) 19’17.950s

Overall Standings

  1. Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (Yamaha) 41 points
  2. Hokky Krisdianto (Yamaha) 33 points
  3. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 25 points
  4. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 25 points
  5. Ferlando Herdian (Yamaha) 24 points

Team Standings

  1. PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor 50 points
  2. R7 KYT AHRSS SSS Racing Tech 33 points
  3. Manual tech KYT Rextor 25 points
  4. BKMS Indonesia Racing Team 24 points
  5. Faito Factory Racing 20 points

Asia Dream Cup

Race 1

  1. Hiroki Nakamura (JPN) 18’58.581s
  2. Yusuke Nakamura (JPN) 18’58.904s
  3. Muklada Sarapuech (THA) 18’59.257s
  4. Hafiz Nor Azman (MAS) 19’00.147s
  5. Arsyad Rusydi Shaharum (SIN) 19’02.432s

Race 2

  1. Muklada Sarapuech (THA) 19’04.764s
  2. Yusuke Nakamura (JPN) 19’04.780s
  3. Hiroki Nakamura (JPN) 19’04.918s
  4. Koko Masaharu (PHI) 19’04.982s
  5. Febriansyah (INA) 19’05.071s

Overall Standings

  1. Apiwat Wongthananon (Honda) 45 points
  2. Takehiro Yamamoto (Kawasaki) 38 points
  3. Vorapong Malahuan (Honda) 36 points
  4. Nakarin Athiratphuvapat (Honda) 29 points
  5. Ryunosuke Hyodo (Kawasaki) 22 points
Zamri Baba 52 leading the SS600cc race Zamri Baba onboard his Honda CBR600RR
Zamri won Race 2 of the SuperSports 600cc category at Sepang Zamri Baba on the SuperSports 600cc Race 2 podium with Yudhistira and Dimas Ekky

<< Back to News