2015 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship

Round 4 - Chang International Circuit, Buriram, Thailand

Race Report


Japan’s Yuki Takahashi capped off a perfect weekend in Round 4 of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship as he reeled in 16 perfect laps to win Race 2 of the SuperSports 600cc category and reclaim the championship lead.

The poleman completed the 16-lap race in 26’50.020s after battling a relentless Ratthapong Wilairot (AP Honda Thailand) in the opening stages. Unfortunately, despite his impressive pace, the local favourite crashed with 11 laps remaining, much to the dismay of his home crowd.

This win mark Yuki’s first ever back-to-back win since stepping into the Asian Championship.

Meanwhile Tomoyoshi Koyama (T.Pro Yuzy Honda NTS) finished second in 26’58.507s after battling an aggressive Ahmad Yudhistira who settled for third in 26’58.933s.

“Race 2 was extremely difficult with Ratthapong being very fast. He had a strong pace and you could tell he was pushing hard to win in front of his home crowd. But I guess the pressure got to him and that's when he crashed at turn-5. It was unfortunate and I feel sorry for him,” said Yuki.

The Musashi Boon Siew Honda rider who now leads the title chase with 127 points added, “From there it was just me alone. But I gave my maximum best right to the end. Credit goes out to the team who prepared a great bike this weekend.”

Meanwhile, Norizman Ismail took victory in Race 2 of the Underbone 130cc, bouncing back from a disappointing Race 1 that was marred by a faulty gearbox.

The Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda rider remained with the frontrunners throughout the 8-lap race, occasionally swapping leads with his rivals before going in for the kill at the last turn of the final lap.

He completed the race in 17’37.225s with Race 1 winner, Gupita Kresna crossing the finish line second in 17’37.413s followed by Ferlando Herdian, 17’37.561s.

Affendi Rosli, Fareez Afeez and Adib Rosley who all displayed competitive race by leading the race crashed out at the final lap.

Following the Thailand round, Gupita continues to lead the Underbone 130cc standings with 151 points ahead of Norizman with 118 points and Ferlando third, 107 points.

Round 5 of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship will be held at the Losail International Circuit on 3rd October.

Race Results

SuperSports 600cc

Race 1

  1. Yuki Takahashi (Honda) 26’43.824s
  2. Ratthapong Wilairot (Honda) 26’50.395s
  3. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 26’53.201s
  4. Ahmad Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 27’01.009s
  5. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 27’01.042s

Race 2

  1. Yuki Takahashi (Honda) 26’50.020s
  2. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 26’58.507s
  3. Ahmad Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 26’58.933s
  4. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 29’59.557s 166s
  5. Andi Farid Izdihar (Honda) 27’01.727s

Overall Standings

  1. Yuki Takahashi (Honda) 127 points 
  2. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 117 points 
  3. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 91 points 
  4. Ahmad Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 87 points 
  5. Dimas Ekky Pratama (Honda) 78 points 

Team Awards

  1. Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing 143 points 
  2. T.Pro Yuzy Honda NTS 117 points 
  3. Astra Honda Racing Team 109 points 
  4. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 91 points 
  5. Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki 87 points 

Underbone 130cc

Race 1

  1. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 17’36.077s
  2. Fareez Afeez (Yamaha) 17’36.286s
  3. Azam Omar (Yamaha) 17’36.377s
  4. Anggi Permana (Yamaha) 17’36.601s
  5. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Yamaha) 17’36.659s

Race 2

  1. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 17’37.225s
  2. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 17’37.413s
  3. Ferlando Herdian (Yamaha) 17’37.561s
  4. Elly Idzlianizar Ilias (Honda) 17’37.662s
  5. Sasitharen Sukumaran (Honda) 17’37.712s

Overall Standings

  1. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 151 points
  2. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 118 points
  3. Ferlando Herdian (Yamaha) 107 points
  4. Anggi Permana Putra (Yamaha) 99 points
  5. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Yamaha) 56 points

Team Awards

  1. Manual Tech KYT Rextor 151 points
  2. Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda 121 points
  3. BKMS Indonesia Racing Team 107 points
  4. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 78 points
  5. Felda PB Racing 76 points

SuperSports 600cc race in Thailand

SS600 (Race 1) - P1 Yuki Takahashi P2 Ratthapong Wilairot P3 Tomoyoshi Koyama

SS600 (Race 2) - P1 Yuki Takahashi P2 Tomoyoshi Koyama P3 Yudhistira

Yuki Takahashi celebrating his SS600 win in Thailand

<< Back to News