Honda 2015 Motorsports Program Overview
February 13, 2015 - Honda Motor Co., Ltd. announced its 2015 motorsports strategy and initiatives for expanding the popularity of motorsports.
Since the days of its founding, Honda has always tackled the challenge of competing in motorsports events around the world, using the races as a springboard for the company’s growth by testing, refining and proving the worth of its original technologies on the global stage. Under its corporate slogan of “The Power of Dreams,” Honda aims to satisfy the expectations of its customers by putting more power behind its motorsports activities, so that through racing it can bring fun, joy and excitement to people across the globe.
<< Overview of Motorcycle Racing Strategy >>
• FIM Road Racing World Championship Grand Prix Series
MotoGP class
Honda will compete in the “Factory Option” aiming to take home the three titles of the riders’, constructors’ and team championships for the third season in a row. This year, Honda will field a 2015 version of the RC213V with maximum output and controllability further enhanced.
As Honda’s factory team, Repsol Honda Team will again feature the duo of Marc Márquez, who emerged as MotoGP champion for the second year in a row last season, and Dani Pedrosa, who ranked fourth in the 2014 racing season. Racing for Honda’s satellite teams will be Cal Crutchlow of CWM LCR Honda and Scott Redding of Estrella Galicia Marc VDS.
Factory Option
Team Number Rider Age Nationality 2014 Result
Repsol Honda Team 93 Marc Márquez 21 Spain MotoGP. Champion
26 Dani Pedrosa 29 Spain MotoGP. 4th
CWM LCR Honda 35 Cal Crutchlow 29 U.K. MotoGP. 13th
Estrella Galicia Marc VDS 45 Scott Redding 22 U.K. MotoGP. 12th
Moto2 class
Established in 2010, the Moto2 class has been supported by Honda as the sole official engine supplier starting with that first year. The machines ridden by each team have been powered by an engine developed exclusively for the Moto2 class and based on the inline 4-cylinder engine of the commercially available CBR600RR supersports model. It has also been decided that Honda will continue supplying the engine to all teams through the 2016–2018 seasons.
IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia will be in its third season competing in the Moto2 class. Led by team manager Tadayuki Okada, a former rider in the Honda factory team, the team aims to help young riders tackle the challenge of competing in the Road Racing World Championship Series races and realize their dreams, through links with Honda’s racing endeavors in countries throughout Asia. This season, the team will again feature the two riders of Takaaki Nakagami and Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman.
Team Number Rider Age Nationality 2014 Result
IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 30 Takaaki Nakagami 23 Japan Moto2 22th
25 Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman 30 Malaysia Moto2 entry
FIM Asia Road Racing Championship Series
A team from Boon Siew Honda SDN. BHD., Honda’s local affiliate in Malaysia; teams from A.P. Honda Co., Ltd. and Thai Honda Manufacturing Co., Ltd., Honda affiliates in Thailand; and a team from P.T. Astra Honda Motor, Honda’s local affiliate in Indonesia, will race in the SS600 class of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship Series (ARRC). Boon Siew Honda, joined by Yuki Takahashi, the champion in last year’s All-Japan Championship J-GP2 class, will vie to capture the championship title for the fourth consecutive season.
Team Number Rider Nationality 2014 Result
MuSASHI Boon Siew Honda Racing CBR600RR Md Zamri Baba Malaysia ARRC 4th
Yuki Tahkahashi Japan JRR J-GP2, Champion
A.P. Honda Thailand Ratthapong Wilairot Thailand ARRC 10th
Jakkrit Swangswat Thailand ARRC 8th
Thai Honda Racing Suhathai Chaemsup Thailand ARRC 14th
Astra Honda Racing Dimas Ekky Pratama Indonesia ARRC 9th
Md Fadli Imammudin Indonesia ARRC 12th
T. Pro Yuzy Honda Tomoyoshi Koyama Japan ARRC 5th
Taiga Hada Japan ARRC SS130, 2nd
FIM CEV Repsol Moto3 Junior WorldSeries
This championship is renamed this season from the FIM CEV Repsol International Championship Moto3 class and is now positioned as a world championship. A total of eight races will be held, starting in Portugal and followed by races in Spain and France.
Competing in the series will be Khairul Idham Pawi of Malaysia, who was ranked No. 1 in the Asia Dream Cup series last season; Kaito Toba and Yuta Date, ranked No. 1 and No. 2 in Asia Talent Cup last year; and Sena Yamada, the champion of the All Japan Road Race Championship J-GP3 for two years in a row.
Team Number Machine Rider Age Nationality 2014 Result
Junior Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 17 NSF250RW Sena Yamada 20 Japan JRR J-GP3, champion
Honda team Asia 98 NSF250R Khairul Idham Pawi 16 Malaysia ADC champion
Asia Talent Cup Team 32 Kaito Toba 14 Japan Asia Talent Cup, 1st
31 Yuta Date 15 Japan Asia Talent Cup, 2nd
【Fostering Rider Talent in the Asian Region】
Asia Dream Cup
The rapid rise in enthusiasm across Asia for motorcycle racing led to the introduction in 2012 of the Asia Dream Cup, a program for helping develop rider talent and a part of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship Series. Honda continues its active support of this project, which will select riders from various countries in the Asian region including Japan, with the aim of fostering future GP race rider talent.
Honda also continues to use the CBR 250R-based race spec machine. Japanese riders for this season will be Yusuke Nakamura and Daiki Nakamura, both of whom turned in good performances in races in Japan last year while riding in the CBR250R Dream Cup.
<< Back to News