Zaqhwan Leads CP130 with 120 Points
2014 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship
ROUND 7 – Teluk Intan, Perak (27-28 September 2014)
Race Report
Title runner-up in Teluk Intan, Perak, Zaqhwan Mohd Zaidi (GIVI Honda Yuzy Racing) widened the gap as leaders CP130 with 120 points, 11 points ahead of nearest rivals, Norizman Ismail (Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing) who collected 109 points while Afif up to third place with 98 points.
Zaqhwan commented, “I engaged the wrong gear at the U-turn and lost a lot of speed. It was an honest mistake and I would like to apologize to the team and all our supporters who came here today.”
Zaqhwan completing the race in 16'59.105s while Afif recorded 16'58.225s. Fazli Sham was in third place with a time of 17'05.236s.
Meanwhile Khairul Idham Pawi will have to wait for the next round to realize his WIRA title ambitions.
The Kozi Yam Honda Racing rider could have clinched the crown having won the 12-lap race in 11:53.587s if title rival Afiki Supaat finished eighth or lower but the Jetron Apido Team PJM rider finished seventh instead.
Even so, Khairul insisted he was more than happy to just win his home race in front of his family and friends.
Mohd Fairuz Nasir finished second in 12:05.333s followed by Khairul’s teammate, Mohd Qhuwarismi Nasir third, 12:07.520s.
“There was a possibility we could wrap the championship battle here at Teluk Intan but that was never my objective. I just wanted to win at my homeground and make my supporters proud,” said Khairul.
“I don’t mind waiting for the next race to confirm the title,” he added.
Claiming his sixth win for the season, Khairul heads into Round Eight in Kangar, Perlis hauling 166 points, 74 points clear of Afiki (92 points) while Harith Farhan takes third overall with 75 points.
Round Eight of the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship will take place on this 18 and 19 October.
1.Ahmad Afif Amran (Yamaha) 16:58.225s
2.Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 16:59.105s
3.Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 17:05.236s
4.Taufiq Roslan (Yamaha) 17:06.011s
5.Norizman Ismail (Honda) 17:08.421s
Overall Standings
1.Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 120 points
2.Norizman Ismail (Honda) 109 points
3.Ahmad Afif Amran (Yamaha) 98 points
4.Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 77 points
5.Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 76 points
Team Awards
1.PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ 174 points
2.Givi Honda Yuzy Racing 168 points
3.Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing B 162 points
4.PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor 124 points
5.Motul Yamaha YY Pang 108 points
1.Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin (Yamaha) 14:23.883s
2.Zaidy Mohd Zaifaizal (Yamaha) 14:24.090s
3.Izzat Zaidi Salehan (Yamaha) 14:25.652s
4.Amirul Ariff Musa (Honda) 14:31.466s
5.Ahmad Syukran Aizat (Yamaha) 14:32.627s
Overall Standings
1.Zaidy Mohd Zaifaizal (Yamaha) 139 points
2.Izzat Zaidi Salehan (Yamaha) 128 points
3.Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin (Yamaha) 113 points
4.Amirul Ariff Musa (Honda) 96 points
5.Syafiq Rosli (Honda) 63 points
Team Awards
1.Motul Yamaha YY Pang A 241 points
2.Motul Yamaha YY Pang B 170 points
3.Givi Honda Yuzy Racing 135 points
4.M Seki Liberty Honda 107 points
5.PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor 73 points
1.Khairul Idham Pawi (Honda) 11:53.587s
2.Fairuz Nasir (Yamaha) 12:05.333s
3.Harith Farhan Baharin (Honda) 12:07.520s
4.Saiful Izman (Yamaha) 12:08.021s
5.Amirul Hakim (Yamaha) 12:11.032s
Overall Standings
1.Khairul Idham Pawi (Honda) 166 points
2.Afiki Supaat (Yamaha) 92 points
3.Harith Farhan (Honda) 75 points
4.Khairul Ikhwan Ajis (Yamaha) 71 points
5.Saiful Izman Ahmad Zamani (Yamaha) 68 points
CP130 Podium in Teluk Intan WIRA, leading by Khairul Idham
Zaqhwan Zaidi 21 during the CP130 race at Teluk Intan Crowd at CP Round 7, Teluk Intan
<< Back to News