Zamri Baba Absent to Defend His Title Lead at Suzuka
Japan’s Katsuaki Fujiwara capitalized on Mohd Zamri Baba’s absence and moved into the SuperSports 600cc lead with 132 points after a hard fought victory and a podium in Round Four of the PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship at the Suzuka Circuit.
Fujiwara won Race 1 in an action-packed battle with Yuki, Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi and Makoto Tamada. The four riders swapped leads aggressively throughout the race before Fujiwara got the best of his competitors at the second last turn, wrapping it up in 29’23.968s.
Tamada (Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing) finished 0.129 seconds later with 29’24.097s followed by Tomoyoshi Koyama (T.Pro Yuzy Honda NTS) who nicked the final podium step with 29’25.196s.
Having finished fifth in Race 1, Yuki returned bigger and stronger for Race 2 where he dominated the 13-lap race, fending off Zaqhwan and Koyama in the process. The 22-year old completed Race 2 as champion in 29’12.812s followed by Fujiwara and Koyama with 29’20.275s and 29’20.688s respectively.
Fujiwara went on to comment about his newly acquired lead, “I am happy to be on top but I also feel bad because Zamri was not around to defend his lead. I am sure with him on the grid, the battle would have been more complex. Hopefully he recovers from his injury soon.”
Underbone 130cc Race 1 podium instead was dominated by T.Pro Yuzy Honda riders with Mohd Amirul Ariff Musa taking the chequered flag in 16’47.615s after initial winner, Ferlando Herdian’s result was disqualified following a technical infringement.
Automatically Amirul’s teammates, Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said and Taiga Hada who finished with 16’48.331s and 16’52.536s moved up to second and third respectively.
As for Race 2, Kazuki Masaki of Team Honda RSC gave his supporters something to cheer when he took victory with 16’48.821s, ahead of seasoned contender, Norizman Ismail (Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing) with 16’48.885s followed by Ferlando Herdian third, 16’48.956s.
Gupita now leads the Underbone 130cc standings with 115 points followed by Norizman with 104 points and Ahmad Fazli Sham with 95 points.
Lastly, Khairul Idham Pawi continued with his winning ways as he took another double victory in the developmental Asia Dream Cup series, extending his championship lead to a massive 195 points, 70 points ahead of title contender, Teppei Nagoe.
The 16-year old took the chequered flag in Race 1 in 19’16.348s after engaging in a race long battle with Nagoe who finished second with 19’17.468s followed by Indonesian, Andi Farid Izdihar came in third with 19’17.889s.
Race 2 proved to be a tougher outing for Khairul with six riders fighting for the chequered flag but the Malaysian despite dropping as low as fifth managed to crawl his way to the front of the pack in the final lap, ending the seven lap race in 19’12.705s.
Race Results
SuperSports 600cc
Race 1
1. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 29'23.968s
2. Makoto Tamada (Honda) 29'24.097s
3. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 29'25.196s
4. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 29'25.316s
5. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 29'25.990s 
Race 2
1. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 29'19.812s
2. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 29'20.275s
3. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 29'20.688s
4. Dimas Ekky Pratama (Honda) 29'20.747s
5. Makoto Tamada (Honda) 29'20.815s
Overall Standings
1. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 132 points
2. Mohd Zamri Baba (Honda) 99 points
3. Makoto Tamada (Honda) 97 points
4. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 90 points
5. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 89 points
Team Standings
1. Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing 160 points
2. BEET Kawasaki Racing 132 points
3. T Pro Yuzy Honda NTS 109 points
4. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 92 points
5. Astra Honda Racing Team 83 points
Underbone 130cc
Race 1
1. Mohd Amirul Ariff Musa (Honda) 16'47.615s
2. Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 16'48.331s
3. Taiga Hada (Honda) 16'52.536s
4. Reza Fahlevy (Yamaha) 16'54.040s
5. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 16'55.240s
Race 2
1. Kazuki Masaki (Honda) 16'48.821s
2. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 16'48.885s
3. Ferlando Herdian (Yamaha) 16'48.956s
4. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 16'48.980s
5. Vorapong Malahuan (Honda) 16'49.179s
Overall Standings
1. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 115 points
2. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 104 points
3. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 95 points
4. Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 82 points
5. Mohd Amirul Ariff Musa (Honda) 78 points
Team Standings
1. Kawasaki KYT Rextor Manual Tech 115 points
2. T Pro Yuzy Honda NTS 113 points
3. Harian Metro Y TEQ SCK Honda Racing 106 points
4. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 105 points
5. Faito Factory Racing 82 points
Asia Dream Cup
Race 1
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 19'16.348s
2. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 19'17.468s
3. Andi Farid Izdihar (INA) 19'17.889s
4. Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 19'18.064s
5. Aditya Pangestu (INA) 19'18.283s
Race 2
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 19'12.705s
2. Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 19'13.006s
3. Aditya Pangestu (INA) 19'13.235s
4. Andi Farid (INA) 19'13.671s
5. Reitoku Kurogi (JPN) 19'13.932s
Overall Standings
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 195 points
2. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 135 points
3. Aditya Pangestu (INA) 105 points
4. Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 96 points
5. Andi Farid Izdihar (INA) 83 points
Close battle - Yuki Ito 76 and Zaqhwan Zaidi 21 neck
to neck during the SuperSports 600cc race at Suzuka
UB130 Race 2 Podium - P1 Kazuki Masaki P2
Norizman Ismail P3 Ferlando Herdian
ADC Race 2 Podium - P1 Khairul Idham P2
Chuang An Yu P3 Aditya Pangestu
Khairul Idham celebrating his ADC win at
<< Back to News