2014 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship
Round 3 – Autopolis Circuit, Japan (15 - 17 August)
Race Report

Poleman Katsuaki Fujiwara and Makoto Tamada ended their victory drought in the 2014 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship when both riders won Race 1 and Race 2 of the SuperSports 600cc category respectively under sunny conditions at the Autopolis International Race Course in Japan on Sunday.


Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing’s Mohd Zamri Baba meanwhile remains in control of the standings having finished Race 1 fourth and Race 2 on the podium, bringing his championship haul to 99 points.


Fujiwara won Race 1 in 23’16.911s after a hard fought battle against Zamri, Zaqhwan Zaidi, Tomoyoshi Koyama and Yuki Ito. All five riders took turns to lead the 12-lap race before Fujiwara capitalized on home advantage to pull away from the pack with four laps remaining.


Yuki finished 0.126 seconds later with 23’17.037s followed by Tomoyoshi Koyama (T.Pro Yuzy Honda) who earned his first SuperSports 600cc podium in third place with 23’17.274s.


Pumped up, Fujiwara eyed the possibility of another victory in Race 2 but instead it was Tamada who won with 23’15.047s ahead of teammate, Zamri with 23’15.312s in second place. Koyama finished third with 23’15.466s.


Koyama’s podium finish however was later disqualified after the team was found guilty of a technical infringement and AP Honda Thailand’s Jakkrit Swangsat was promoted to third (23’15.688s).


“We maintained the same setup for both races and that was our biggest mistake. Most of the Honda teams made changes to their bikes after Race 1 and as a result they were faster in Race 2 and they came charging at me like waves. I could still fight them but once they got ahead, it was very hard to close the gap. It was an overwhelming race,” said Fujiwara who is placed second overall with 87 points. Meanwhile Zamri commented, “After five years, this is my first time setting foot on the podium here at Autopolis. This circuit has always been one of my weakest point and being able to break that means a lot to me. Of course, none of this would have been possible without the support of everyone at Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing."


The Underbone 130cc was just as exciting when Japan’s Kazuki Masaki of Team Honda RSC took the chequered flag in Race 1. The 16-year old proved to be a dominant to lead the 8-lap race from start to finish within 18’23.079s.


Completing the podium steps were seasoned contenders, Ahmad Fazli Sham and Norizman Ismail (Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing) with 18’26.961s and 18’27.033s respectively.


Like compatriot Fujiwara, Masaki initially hoped to win Race 2 as well but luck ran out on the pint-sized rider when he crashed in the opening lap.


Two time Underbone 115cc champion, Hadi Wijaya went on to win the race with 18’27.114s, 0.025 seconds ahead of Gupita Kresna with 18’27.139s followed by Fazli Sham finished third with 18’27.359s.


After three rounds, Gupita leads the Underbone 130cc standings with 98 points followed by Fazli Sham second, 81 points and Norizman third, 73 points.


Lastly, Khairul Idham Pawi’s winning streak in the developmental Asia Dream Cup series continues as the Malaysian bagged a double win at the Autopolis Circuit, taking his championship lead to a whopping 145 points, 40 points clear from closest rival, Teppei Nagoe (105 points) followed by Indonesia’s Aditya Pangestu third, 78 points.


The 16-year-old rider won both Race 1 (Saturday) and Race 2 (Sunday) despite stiff competition from Japan’s Nagoe and Syunya Mori who tried to tag-team their way to lead the pack at the front of the grid.


Despite the duo’s efforts, Khairul managed to thread his way past their blockade during the final two turns in Race 1, winning with a total time of 19'08.625s. 0.164 seconds behind Khairul. Nagoe was disappointed to finish second with 19'08.789s while Mori ended the race third with 19'08.789s.


A similar formation took place in Race 2 but Khairul kept his cool to come out on top with 18’36.604s while Nagoe and Mori settled for runner-up positions again in 18’37.110s and 18’37.259s respectively.


Round Four of the 2014 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship will take place at the iconic Suzuka Circuit this 5 to 7 September.

SuperSports 600cc
Race 1

1.Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 23’16.911s
2.Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 23’17.037s
3.Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 23’17.274s
4.Mohd Zamri Baba (Honda) 23’17.452s
5.Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 23’17.648s

Race 2

1.Makoto Tamada (Honda) 23’15.047s
2.Mohd Zamri Baba (Honda) 23’15.312s
3.Jakkrit Swangswat (Honda) 23’15.688s
4.Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 23’15.854s
5.Mitsunori Okamura (Kawasaki) 23’16.279s

Overall Standings

1.Mohd Zamri Baba (Honda) 99 points
2.Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 87 points
3.Makoto Tamada (Honda) 66 points
4.Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 66 points
5.Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 63 points

Team Standings

1.Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing 129 points
2.BEET Kawasaki Racing 87 points
3.T.Pro Yuzy Honda 77 points
4.Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing 63 points
5.Astra Honda Racing Team 60 points

Underbone 130cc
Race 1

1.Kazuki Masaki (Honda) 18’23.079s
2.Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 18’26.961s
3.Norizman Ismail (Honda) 18’27.033s
4.Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 18’27.087s
5.Hadi Wijaya (Yamaha) 18’27.360s

Race 2

1.Hadi Wijaya (Yamaha) 18’27.114s
2.Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 18’27.139s
3.Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 18’27.359s
4.Mohd Amirul Ariff Musa (Honda) 18’27.509s
5.Taiga Hada (Honda) 18’27.544s

Overall Standings

1.Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 98 points
2.Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 81 points
3.Norizman Ismail (Honda) 73 points
4.Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 56 points
5.Mohd Affendi Rosli (Honda) 55 points

Team Standings

1.Kawasaki KYT Rextor Manual Tech 98 points
2.PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 83 points
3.T.Pro Yuzy Honda 75 points
4.Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing 75 points
5.Thai Honda Racing 53 points

Asia Dream Cup
Race 1

1.Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 19’08.625s
2.Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 19’08.789s
3.Syunya Mori (JPN) 19’09.019s
4.Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 19’09.648s
5.Aditya Pangestu (INA) 19’24.078s

Race 2

1.Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 18’36.604s
2.Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 18’37.110s
3.Syunya Mori (JPN) 18’37.259s
4.Andi Farid (INA) 18’47.161s
5.Mohd Harith Farhan Baharin (MAS) 18’47.196s

Overall Standings

1.Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 145 points
2.Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 105 points
3.Aditya Pangestu (INA) 78 points
4.Syunya Mori (JPN) 68 points
5.Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 63 points

SS600 Podium Race 2 - P1 Makoto Tamada P2 Zamri Baba P3 Tamoyoshi Koyama Makoto Tamada 100 leading the SuperSports 600cc Race 2 ahead of teammate Zamri Baba 52 at Autopolis Japan
Zamri Baba 52 during the SuperSports 600cc race at Autopolis