Zaqhwan's Winning Streak Continues
2014 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship
Round 2 – Sentul International Circuit, Indonesia (13 - 15 June)
Race Report
SS600 Podium Race 1 -
P1 MFadli P2 Yudhistira P3 Zamri Baba
SS600 Race 2 podium - Young bloods -
P1 Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi P2 Dimas Ekky P3 Yudhistira
With three Cub Prix wins already under his belt, Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi carried his winning streak to the Asian platform as he wrapped up Round Two of the PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship on a high by clinching his first SuperSports 600cc victory in a dramatic battle at the Sentul International Circuit in Indonesia on June 15, 2014.
Zaqhwan who began his SuperSports 600cc career in 2012 took his first premiere class win in Race 2 in a wheel to wheel battle with M.Fadli (T.Pro Yuzy Honda), Dimas Ekky Pratama (Astra Motor Honda Racing) and Yudhistira (Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing).
The 19-year old completed the 16-lap race in 24’49.441s while Dimas settled for second in 24’49.661s and Yudhistira came in third with 24’50.170s. Fadli on the other hand crashed out of the race at turn 1 with two laps remaining.
Zaqhwan Zaidi during the SuperSports 600cc race in Indonesia ADC Race 2 Podium -
P1 Khairul Idham Pawi P2 Andi Farid P3 Aditya Pangestu
“Words can’t express how I feel. I have been waiting for this day for a very long time and finally all the hard work has paid off. Thank you to everyone for making this possible,” said an elated Zaqhwan.
Reflecting on the intense outing he had today, Zaqhwan commented, “It was extremely tough. Race 1 took place under wet conditions and I had a very bad start. It was very slippery so I played it safe and finished sixth.”
“Race 2 was much better but the race was far from easy. I had to push the limits to get ahead of my Indonesian rivals. But the team engineers did a great job with the bike and this gave me a slight advantage over them particularly down the front straight.”
Earlier today for Race 1, Mohd Zamri Baba finished third with 25’21.917s. Although Zamri failed to pick any points from Race 2 having crashed and finished 22nd, the 31-year old maintains his championship lead with 66 points.
Meanwhile in the Underbone 130cc, third place went to walking wounded Norizman Ismail (Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing) with 21’06.243s.
For the overall standings points in total, Norizman is now the second place with 52 points in the Underbone 130cc standings.
Lastly Khairul Idham Pawi successfully defended his lead in the Asia Dream Cup overall standings with a double podium.
The 16-year old came in second in Race 1 in 19’00.458s, just 0.004 seconds adrift winner, Teppei Nagoe of Japan with 19’00.454s. Aditya Pangestu meanwhile made his home crowd proud with a third place finish in 19’00.649s.
A similar formation took place for Race 2 with six different riders fighting for lead only this time they were hit with a rain storm with three laps remaining. Even so, this did not stop Khairul from pulling the rug under Aditya’s feet during the dash to the finish line, ultimately securing his third win for the season after Sepang.
Khairul completed Race 2 in 19’33.676s while Andi Farid and Aditya settled for second and third with 19’33.761s and 19’34.744s respectively.
Hauling 45 points from this round, Khairul extends his championship lead to 95 points followed by Nagoe in second with 65 points and Aditya third with 59 points.
Round 3 of the 2014 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship will take place at the Autopolis International Race Course in Japan this 15 to 17 August.
SuperSports 600cc
Race 1
1. M.Fadli (INA) 25'21.699s
2. H.Yudhistira (INA) 25'21.834s
3. Zamri Baba (MAS) 25'21.917s
4. Dimas Ekky Pratama (INA) 25'23.505s
5. Denny Triyugo (INA) 25'28.745s
Race 2
1. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (MAS) 24’49.441s
2. Dimas Ekky Pratama (INA) 24’49.661s
3. H.A Yudhistira (INA) 24’50.170s
4. Katsuaki Fujiwara (JPN) 24’58.763s
5. Ivos A Rianda (INA) 25’05.497s
Overall Standings
1. Zamri Baba (MAS) 66 points
2. H.A Yudhistira (INA) 59 points
3. Katsuaki Fujiwara (JPN) 49 points
4. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (MAS) 46 points
5. Dimas Ekky Pratama (INA) 46 points
Team Standings
1. Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing 91 points
2. Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing 59 points
3. T.Pro Yuzy Honda 53 points
4. BEET Kawasaki Racing 49 points
5. Astra Honda Racing Team 46 points
Underbone 130cc
Race 1
1. Vorapong Malahuan (THA) 21'05.361s
2. Gupita Kresna (INA) 21'05.926s
3, Norizman Ismail (MAS) 21'06.243s
4. Taiga Hada (JPN) 21'06.340s
5. Rozaiman Mohd Said (MAS) 21'06.359s
Race 2
1. Hendriansyah (INA) 19’54.763s
2. Gupita Kresna (INA) 19’55.092s
3. Kazuki Masaki (JPN) 19’55.314s
4. Irwan Ardiansyah (INA) 19’55.404s
5. Norizman Ismail (MAS) 19’55.943s
Overall Standings
1. Gupita Kresna (INA) 70 points
2. Norizman Ismail (MAS) 52 points
3. Ahmad Fazli Sham (MAS) 45 points
4. Vorapong Malahuan (THA) 43 points
5. Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (MAS) 43 points
Team Standings
1. Kawasaki KYT Rextor Manual Tech 70 points
2. Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing 52 points
3. T.Pro Yuzy Honda 52 points
4. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 47 points
5. Thai Honda Racing 43 points
Asia Dream Cup
Race 1
1. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 19'00.454s
2. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 19'00.458s
3. Aditya Pangestu Hanafi (INA) 19'00.649s
4. Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 19'00.831s
5. Reitoku Kurogi (JPN) 19'01.937s
Race 2
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 19’33.676s
2. Andi Farid Izdihar (INA) 19’33.761s
3. Aditya Pangestu (INA) 19’34.744s
4. Reitoku Kurogi (JPN) 19’40.842s
5. Kiadtisak Chauywiset (THA) 19’40.882s
Overall Standings
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 95 points
2. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 65 points
3. Aditya Pangestu (INA) 59 points
4. Andi Farid Izdihar (INA) 41 points
5. Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 40 points
<< Back to ARRC