Zaqhwan Completes Hat-Trick in Temerloh
2014 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship
ROUND 5 - Kawasan Perindustrian Temerloh, Pahang (21-22 June)
Race Report
Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi gave his hometown supporters a lot to shout about as the Givi Honda Yuzy Racing rider won his third straight CP130 race in Round Five of the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship in Temerloh, Pahang on Sunday.
The runaway championship leader fought back from a poor start and survived a furious onslaught that came in the form of Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing duo, Norizman Ismail and Ahmad Fazrul Sham.
CP130 Podium in Temerloh WIRA, leading by Khairul Idham
However Norizman who was not 100 percent fit due to a training injury could only hold the lead for five laps before Zaqhwan took over the race. The two-time CP130/Expert champion signalled Fazrul Sham to take on Zaqhwan but the seasoned contender suffered a massive high-side in lap eight at the final turn.
Zaqhwan who had already built a comfortable gap by then went on to power his Honda machine to the finish line, completing the 18-lap race in 13’24.203s with Norizman taking second place in 13’30.788s. Motul Yamaha YY Pang’s Mohd Adib Rosley clinched his maiden CP130 podium in third spot with 13’30.844s.
Rounding up the top five was PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ’s Mohd Affendi Rosli and Adib’s teammate, Mohd Azhar Abdul Jalil.
CP130 race at Temerloh Zaqhwan Zaidi 21 leading the CP130 race ahead
of Norizman and Fazrul Sham
Overjoyed to win in front of his home crowd, Zaqhwan commented, “Temerloh marks a very special race for me. Not only is this my first time scoring a hat-trick but the fact I managed to do it in front of my family, friends and supporters here makes the victory so much sweeter!”
“Of course none of this would have been possible without the support of the entire staff from Yuzy Racing. They did a great job with the bike.”
He went on to reflect on the race, “I did not have the best of starts despite taking off from pole and Norizman stole the holeshot. But he was injured and started to make mistakes and in the fifth lap he ran wide so I immediately dived for the lead and the rest was history. Congratulations to Norizman for coming in second despite the pain. I respect him for that.”
Adding 25 points to his tally, Zaqhwan strengthens his lead in the championship standings with 100 points followed by Ahmad Afif Amran and Norizman Ismail who are tied at 73 points.
Givi Honda Yuzy Racing’s Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said finished fourth while Mohd Syafiq Rosli of M-Seki Liberty Honda took fifth.
Although it was Izzat who won the race Zaidy still remains in control of the CP115 overall standings with 103 points, 16 points ahead of Izzat with 87 points and Tengku Amirul third,75 points.
Khairul Idham Pawi meanwhile secured his fourth consecutive victory in the age-capped WIRA category. The Kozi Yam Honda Racing rider completed the 12-lap race in 9’14.066s unchallenged with PETRONAS Yamaha’s Mohd Azam Omar coming in second with 9’20.490s and Team Mos Track Pro Yamaha’s Mohd Khairul Ikhwan Ajis third, 9’23.049s.
Picking up maximum points from this round, Khairul stretches his lead to a whopping 116 points, 45 points clear from Khairul Ikhwan in second place with 71 points and Mohd Afiki Supaat third, 70 points.
The 2014 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship will take a break in respect to the fasting and Raya month and resume in Teluk Intan in Perak on 23 and 24 August.
1. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 13’24.203s
2. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 13’30.788s
3. Mohd Adib Rosley (Yamaha) 13’30.844s
4. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 13’35.058s
5. Mohd Azhar Abdul Jalil (Yamaha) 13’36.282s
Overall Standings
1. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 100 points
2. Ahmad Afif Amran (Yamaha) 73 points
3. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 73 points
4. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 63 points
5. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 53 points
Team Awards
1. PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ 136 points
2. Givi Honda Yuzy Racing 130 points
3. Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing B 111 points
4. PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor 81 points
5. Motul Yamaha YY Pang 79 points
1. Mohd Izzat Zaidi Salehan (Yamaha) 11’25.239s
2. Zaidy Mohd Zaifaizal (Yamaha) 11’25.387s
3. Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin (Yamah) 11’25.683s
4. Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 11’33.613s
5. Elly Idzlianizar Ilias (Honda) 11’33.700s
Overall Standings
1.Zaidy Mohd Zaifaizal (Yamaha) 103 points
2.Mohd Izzat Zaidi Salehan (Yamaha) 87 points
3.Givi Honda Yuzy Racing 93 points
4.M Seki Liberty Honda 85 points
5.PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ 56 points
Team Awards
1. Motul Yamaha YY Pang A 121 points
2. Motul Yamaha YY Pang B 107 points
3. Givi Honda Yuzy Racing 80 points
4. M Seki Liberty Honda 64 points
5. PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ 52 points
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (Honda) 9’14.066s
2. Mohd Azam Omar (Yamaha) 9’20.490s
3. Mohd Khairul Ikhwan Ajis (Yamaha) 9’23.049s
4. Mohd Izrul Huzaimie Amran (Yamaha) 9’23.537s
5. Mohd Afiki Supaat (Yamaha) 9’28.830s
Overall Standings
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (Honda) 116 points
2. Mohd Khairul Ikhwan Ajis (Yamaha) 71 points
3. Mohd Afiki Supaat (Yamaha) 70 points
4. Mohd Harith Farhan Baharin (Honda) 59 points
5. Mohd Azam Omar (Yamaha) 44 points
<< Back to Cub Prix