2014 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship
Pusingan 1 - Sepang Circuit (18 - 20 April)
Race Report
Walking wounded, Mohd Zamri Baba overcame his injuries to reward Honda with a double victory ahead of poleman, Katsuaki Fujwara in a hard fought SuperSports 600cc battle as the opening round of the 2014 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship wrapped up at the Sepang Circuit on Sunday.
The victory also marked Zamri’s first time winning his home race, a feat only reigning champion, Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman and Chia Tuck Cheong achieved before.
“I really wanted to win here even though my condition was not great. I have never won the opening round before so to achieve that in both races today while still recovering from my injuries is incredibly rewarding,” said Zamri who is also the first Malaysian to score a double win at the Sepang Circuit in the SuperSports 600cc class.
In a battle of epic proportions, Zamri won Race 1 with 27’38.920s after fending off the challenges that came in the form of PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha’s Yuki Ito (27’39.471s) and BEET Kawasaki Racing’s Fujiwara (27’40.605s) who finished second and third respectively.
The Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing rider went on to mastermind one of the best races of his career in Race 2 to trail his Kawasaki rival and lay his assault in the final lap whilst the latter struggled with grip and handling issues. He completed the race with 27’28.232s while Fujiwara was forced to be content in second place (27’29.004s) and Makoto Tamada took third (27’29.004s).
“The pace in Race 2 was significantly faster as the temperatures were high so I maintained a consistent pace for most parts of the 25-lap race. Throughout that time I studied Fujiwara from behind and noticed he had some trouble with grip half way through. I knew it was only going to get worse so I waited until the final lap to put pressure on him. All in all it was an amazing race and congratulations to all the winners,” added Zamri.
Picking up 50 points from this race, Zamri now leads the SuperSports 600cc standings followed by Fujiwara with 36 points and Tamada third, 29 points.
In the Underbone 130cc category, Ahmad Fazli Sham proved he still has what it takes to compete against his Asian level peers as the poleman took the lead in the standings having finished fifth and first in Race 1 and Race 2 respectively.
In Race 1, Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing’s Norizman Ismail fired off the first salvo with 19’53.202s followed by Kawasaki KYT Rextor Manual Tech’s Gupita Kresna (19’53.223s) and T.Pro Yuzy Honda’s Mohd Rozaiman third (19’53.415s).
Norizman was hoping to repeat another podium in Race 2 but his efforts were hampered by a broken exhaust pipe early in the race. The team managed to have the problem resolved in time for Norizman to re-join the race, but by then, he was already two laps behind. Norizman eventually retired with four laps remaining on the race clock.
Fazli Sham made full use of his compatriot’s absence to secure a victory with 19’31.432s ahead of teammate Mohd Affendi Rosli (19’31.633s) and Rozaiman (19’32.710s).
The PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha rider leads the standings with 36 points followed by Affendi with 33 points and Rozaiman third, 32 points.
Lastly Friday’s quickest rider and poleman, Khairul Idham Pawi capped of a perfect weekend with a double victory in the Asia Dream Cup. The victory also meant the 16-year old now takes the lead in the scholarship programme class with 50 points.
The race however was far from easy for Khairul as he was forced to go neck to neck with Teppei Nagoe in both Race 1 and Race 2 but a year’s experience gave the Malaysian hopeful the upper hand in the end.
Khairul completed Race 1 with 19’06.798s just 0.006 seconds ahead of Nagoe who stopped the clock at 19’06.804s. Completing the top three with 19’06.985s was Indonesia’s Aditya Pangestu with 19’06.985s.
The 16-year old went on to win Race 2 with 19’07.992s, this time 0.003 seconds ahead of Nagoe and Syunya Mori who completed the 14-lap race with 19’07.995s and 19’08.226s.


SuperSports 600cc
Race 1
1. Mohd Zamri Baba (Honda) 27’38.920s
2. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 27’39.920s
3. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 27’40.605s
4. Makoto Tamada (Honda) 27’42.378s
5. Ratthapong Wilairot (Honda) 27’44.642s
Race 2
1. Mohd Zamri Baba (Honda) 27’28.232s
2. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 27’28.314s
3. Makoto Tamada (Honda) 27’29.004s
4. H.A Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 27’33.845s
5. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 27’35.863s
Overall Standings
1. Mohd Zamri Baba (Honda) 50 points
2. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 36 points
3. Makoto Tamada (Honda) 29 points
4. H.A Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 23 points
5. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 20 points
Team Standings
1. Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing 50 points
2. BEET Kawasaki Racing 36 points
3. Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing 23 points
4. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 20 points
5. AP Honda Thailand 18 points
Underbone 130cc
Race 1
1. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 19’53.202s
2. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 19’53.223s
3. Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 19’53.415s
4. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 19’53.525s
5. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 19’53.682s
Race 2
1. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 19’31.432s
2. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 19’31.633s
3. Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 19’32.710s
4. Vorapong Malahuan (Honda) 19’33.145s
5. Sasitahren Sukumaran (Honda) 19’33.179s
Overall Standings
1. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 36 points
2. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 33 points
3. Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Honda) 32 points
4. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 30 points
5. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 25 points
Team Standings
1. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 38 points
2. T.Pro Yuzy Honda 32 points
3. Kawasaki KYT Rextor Manual Tech 30 points
4. Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing 25 points
5. Thai Honda Racing 18 points
Asia Dream Cup
Race 1
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 19’06.798s
2. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 19’06.804s
3. Aditya Pangetsu (INA) 19’06.985s
4. Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 19’07.151s
5. Shunya Mori (JPN) 19’07.347s
Race 2
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 19’07.992s
2. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 19’07.995s
3. Syunya Mori (JPN) 19’08.226s
4. Andi Farid Izdihar (INA) 19’08.298s
5. Aditya Pangetsu (INA) 19’09.098s
Overall Standings
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 50 points
2. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 40 points
3. Syunya Mori (JPN) 27 points
4. Aditya Pangetsu (INA) 27 points
5. Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 22 points
<< Back to ARRC