Zaqhwan Over the Moon with Maiden Supersports Title
2014 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship
Round 6 – Losail Circuit, Qatar (12 - 14 December)
Race Report
Although ‘over the moon,’ Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi admits that he still can’t believe that he won the 2014 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship SuperSports 600cc title at the Losail International Circuit in Qatar.
At 19-years old, Zaqhwan earned himself a piece of history to become the youngest premiere class champion with 170 points signing off the year with two victories, four podiums, three top five finishes, a sixth and seventh place and only one DNF. Adding on to his joy, Zaqhwan had also won the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship last month.
The Musashi Boon Siew Honda rider denied Yuki Ito (PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha) the championship by a single point while Katsuaki Fujiwara (BEET Kawasaki) bid farewell to the championship in third overall with 155 points.
This is the third consecutive time Musashi Boon Siew Honda has dominated the SuperSports 600cc class, in both the team and riders’ standings with Ryuichi Kiyonari and Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman winning the title in 2012 and 2013 respectively. “Winning the SuperSports 600cc, ahead of powerful rivals…it feels incredible! It’s like a dream - I can hardly believe it,” said Zaqhwan.
Zaqhwan also admitted that the last lap was a bit of a blur, “I didn’t know what happened in the last lap. I knew I had won the race but was not too sure about the title because when I saw Yuki finish ahead of Zamri. I was really confused at that point. I realized we won the championship when I got back to the pits and saw the team celebrating.”
“Winning the ARRC is really huge and honestly I did not expect it because we were quite behind in the standings after Thailand. It feels amazing, yet strange. I will have to thank a lot of people for this success,” he added.
Meanwhile Khairul Idham Pawi bids farewell to the Asia Dream Cup on a high as he chalked up another set of double win.
Having already wrapped up the championship title in Thailand (Round 5), Khairul could afford to relax in Qatar, but it would simply see him perform better as the poleman snatched lead at the first corner and disappeared into the distance in Race 1, completing the nine-lap race in 17’53.697s.
Aditya Pangestu of Indonesia came in 10 seconds later with 18’03.502s beating Japan’s Teppei Nagoe by 0.034s while Taiwan’s Chuang An-Yu and Harith Farhan Baharin rounded up top five.
Race 2 was a much difficult outing for Khairul as he was forced to battle it out with his rivals for lead. Even so that did not stop the 16-year old from pulling away from the pack in the final three laps to take his ninth win for the season in 17’56.280s.
Sarath Kumar turned in the best performance of his career as he bagged his first podium in the Asia Dream Cup in second place with 17’58.666s, 2.386 seconds adrift Khairul while Syunya Mori came in third, 17’58.700s.
Collecting 50 points, Khairul takes his total championship haul for the season to an unassailable 285 points with Aditya and Nagoe as runner-ups with 179 points and 175 points.
Race Results
SuperSports 600cc
Race 1
1. Zamri Baba (Honda) 31’37.305s
2. Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 31’37.371s
3. Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 31’37.529s
4. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 31’37.682s
5. Ratthapong Wilairot (Honda) 31’38.187s
Race 2
1. Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 31’24.717s
2. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 31’25.097s
3. Zamri Baba (Honda) 31’25.119s
4. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 31’28.354s
5. Yudhistira (Kawasaki) 31’28.434s
Overall Standings
1. Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda) 170 points
2. Yuki Ito (Yamaha) 169 points
3. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 155 points
4. Zamri Baba (Honda) 151 points
5. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Honda) 144 points
Team Standings
1. Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing 246 points
2. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 171 points
3. T Pro Yuzy Honda NTS 171 points
4. BEET Kawasaki Racing 154 points
5. Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki 112 points
Underbone 130cc
Race 1
1. Reza Fahlevy (Yamaha) 18’04.320s
2. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Honda) 18’04.330s
3. Rusman Fadil (Yamaha) 18’04.338s
4. Ferlando Herdian (Yamaha) 18’04.413s
5. Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 18’04.415s
Race 2
1. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 18’04.860s
2. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Honda) 18’04.978s
3. Amirul Ariff Musa (Honda) 18’04.980s
4. Ferlando Herdian (Yamaha) 18’04.990s
5. Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 18’05.011s
Overall Standings
1. Gupita Kresna (Kawasaki) 176 points
2. Taiga Hada (Honda) 127 points
3. Amirul Ariff Musa (Honda) 126 points
4. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 125 points
5. Kazuki Masaki (Honda) 123 points
Team Standings
1. T Pro Yuzy Honda NTS 180 points
2. Kawasaki KYT Rextor Manual Tech 176 points
3. Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing 163 points
4. PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha 150 points
5. Faito Factory Racing 139 points 
Asia Dream Cup
Race 1
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 17’53.697s
2. Aditya Pangestu (INA) 18’03.502s
3. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 18’03.536s
4. Chuang An Yu (TPE) 18’03.547s
5. Harith Farhan Baharin (MAS) 18’03.558s
Race 2
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 17’56.280s
2. Sarath Kumar (IND) 17’58.666s
3. Syunya Mori (JPN) 17’58.700s
4. Aditya Pangestu (INA) 17’58.758s
5. Harith Farhan Baharin (MAS) 18’02.268s
 Overall Standings
1. Khairul Idham Pawi (MAS) 285 points
2. Aditya Pangestu (INA) 179 points
3. Teppei Nagoe (JPN) 175 points
4. Syunya Mori (JPN) 143 points
5. Chuang An-Yu (TPE) 130 points
Zaqhwan Zaidi won the 2014 SuperSports 600cc title in Qatar SuperSports 600cc Podium: P1 Zaqhwan, P2 Ito P3 Zamri Baba
Asia Dream Cup overall winners -
P1 Khairul Idham P2 Aditya Pangestu P3 Syunya Mori
Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing
<< Back to News